Independence Day 2023: How to Draw the Indian National Flag - A Step-by-Step Guide with Pictures

How to Draw the Indian National Flag?

India celebrates its Independence Day on August 15 every year. This day is celebrated to commemorate the day when India’s Constitution came into effect after our country gained independence after a very long fight for freedom. 15 August is celebrated with patriotic fervour and festivities all around the country. This is the perfect time to involve your child in activities that teach him about India’s history and its rich cultural heritage. One of these interesting activities can be learning how to draw the Indian national flag. Doing so will serve a dual purpose – your child will hone his creative skills and, also, learn about the significance of our national flag. Flag drawing for children is one of the best and easiest activities. So, let’s get started! Take a look at how to draw the Indian flag step-by-step.

Video: How to Draw Indian Flag – A Simple Step-by-Step Guide for Kids

What You Will Need for Drawing the Indian Flag?

  • An A4 size plain paper
  • A pencil
  • An eraser
  • A ruler
  • Colours

Flag of India Drawing for Kids in 9 Simple Steps

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to draw the Indian flag.

Step 1: Draw the pole.

how to draw a flag

Using a ruler, draw a pair of vertical lines that are parallel and close to each other. Join both the ends of these parallel lines. This is the pole that will support the flag.

Step 2: Draw the flag.

how to draw the national flag

Draw a wavy line, extending outwards, from the top portion of the flag pole, and draw a similar line a few inches below, as shown in the illustration. Join the open ends of these wavy lines.

Step 3: Divide the flag into 3 parts.

how to draw the Indian national flag

Divide the flag into 3 proportionate sections by drawing 2 wavy and horizontal lines across the flag, as shown in the image.

Step 4: Draw the circle for the Ashoka Chakra.

How to draw the Indian national flag

Draw a small circle in the centre of the middle section of the flag.

Step 5: Complete the Ashoka Chakra.

how to draw the Indian national flag

From the centre of the circle, draw 24 equidistant lines towards the outline of the circle. These lines will form the 24 spokes of the Ashoka Chakra.

Step 6: Draw the stand for the flag pole.

How to draw the Indian national flag

Draw a flat and slightly elongated oval around the bottom of the flag pole, as shown in the image. Below the oval, draw an arc which is parallel to the oval. Join the arc to the oval with two small vertical lines.

Step 7: Draw the cord/rope.

How to draw the Indian national flag

From the topmost tip of the flag pole, draw a wavy line flowing downwards, towards the bottom tip of the pole. This wavy line will form the rope or cord used for hoisting the flag.

Step 8: Draw the base for the stand.

How to draw the Indian national flag

Draw a second oval below the stand of the flag pole. With this, your flag outline is ready. All that’s left is to colour the flag.

Step 9: Colour the flag.

How to draw the Indian national flag

Colour the topmost section of the flag saffron, and the third section dark green. Colour the lines of the Ashoka Chakra navy blue. For the stand and the base, you can use shades of blue and green. While you’re at it, don’t forget to explain to your child what each colour stands for. Saffron stands for courage and sacrifice, white represents truth and peace, and green stands for faith and chivalry. The Ashoka Chakra stands for continuous progress.


1. What Is the Meaning Behind Each Colour of the Indian Flag?

The Indian national flag has saffron, white and green colours. The meaning of each colour is:  

  • The Saffron colour – indicates the strength and courage of the country.  
  • The White middle band – indicates peace and truth along with Dharma Chakra.  
  • The Green colour – shows the fertility, growth and auspiciousness of the land.  

2. What Does the Ashoka Chakra Signify?

The centre of the Indian flag contains the Ashok chakra, on the white bank. It has 24 spokes and is blue in colour. It represents the constant movement and progress of the country.  

3. What Do the 24 Lines in the Ashoka Chakra Represent?  

The 24 spokes in the Ashoka Chakra represent the twelve causal links taught by the Buddha and paṭiccasamuppāda (Dependent Origination, Conditional Arising) in forward and then reverse order. The first 12 spokes represent 12 stages of suffering. 

Drawing the Indian flag has never been easier with this step-by-step guide for your child. Not only will it keep him engaged and guarantee a fun-filled time, but also instil a sense of patriotism in him, as he learns about the significance of each and every element of the flag.

Also Read:

How to Draw Lion for Kids
How to Draw Car for Children
How to Draw an Apple for Kids
How To Draw a Butterfly for Children

Previous article «
Next article »
Ruchelle has a vast experience working with clients in hospitality, health and wellness, entertainment, real estate, and retail. She aims to utilise her learnings to deliver quality content which will in turn help drive sales and customer engagement.